Skip to content

Linux Release Roundup #21.46: Tor Browser 11.0, SparkyLinux 6.1, GNOME 41.1, and More Releases

In the Linux Release Roundup series, we summarize the new distribution and application version releases in the past week. This keeps you informed of the latest developments in the Linux world.

Tor Browser 11.0 Released

The popular open-source Tor browser that preserves the anonymity of users has received a major upgrade.

Features include a completely refreshed UI that looks more modern and appealing, deprecation of v2 Onion Services, and major bug fixes.

You can check out the official announcement to know more.

Raspberry Pi OS (Debian 11) Released

The Raspberry Pi OS is now based on Debian 11. This means it runs on the Linux 5.10 LTS kernel.

There are several other features like the use of GTK+ 3 and Mutter, improved Bluetooth support, a refreshed Recommended Software List, bug fixes, and many more.

The official release notes contain an exhaustive list of all the changes.

LXQt 1.0.0 Released

One of the fastest and lightweight desktop environments out there, LXQt has received a major update.

Some of the major highlights of LXQt 1.0.0 include the use of Qt 5.15 LTS, an enhanced file manager, and the addition of the “Do not Disturb” mode.

You can head over to their official GitHub Releases page to learn more.

GNOME 41.1 Released

GNOME 41, the latest version of the popular desktop environment used in most major distros, has got its first update.

This update is more focused on bug fixes that affect software like the GNOME Shell, GNOME Settings and Connections (Remote Desktop app), and updates to many packages as well. Users have been advised to make use of this update.

The official changelog (needs to be downloaded) contains all the technical details.

SparkyLinux 6.1 “Po Tolo” Released

SparkyLinux 6.1, the Debian-based distro, is now available and is based on Debian 11 and the Linux 5.10 LTS kernel.

The upgrade includes updates to most default packages and other minor improvements.

Feel free to check out the official release notes for more information.

More from It's FOSS...